2014 Speakers


To be announced !



2012 Speakers

Dr. Ian Shapiro

Ian Shapiro is Sterling Professor of Political Science at Yale University, where he also serves as Henry R. Luce Director of the MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies. He has written widely and influentially on democracy, justice, and the methods of social inquiry. A native of South Africa, he received his J.D. from the Yale Law School and his Ph.D from the Yale Political Science Department where he has taught since 1984 and served as chair from 1999 to 2004. Shapiro is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. He is a past fellow of the Carnegie Corporation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences. He has held visiting appointments at the University of Cape Town, Keio University in Tokyo, and Nuffield College, Oxford. His most recent books are The Real World of Democratic Theory; Containment: Rebuilding a Strategy against Global Terror; and The Flight From Reality in the Human Sciences. His current research concerns the relations between democracy and the distribution of income and wealth.


Dr. Eduardo D. Glandt

Eduardo D. Glandt is the Nemirovsky Family Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania.  He received his undergraduate degree in chemical engineering from the University of Buenos Aires in 1968 and earned a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Penn in 1977.  Since joining the faculty, he has served Penn in many capacities, including that of department Chairman between 1990 and 1994.  Dr. Glandt is an expert in thermodynamics and statistical mechanics and has worked extensively on the properties of liquids. Dr. Glandt is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences of Argentina.  Dr. Glandt has received the Reid Warren and the Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching from Penn and the Victor K. LaMer Award from the American Chemical Society.